• Special protected groups such as individuals who lose cash assistance due to earnings from work or from increased Social Security benefits

      • Individuals who meet the requirements for the Aid to Families with Dependent Children (AFDC) program that were in effect in their state on July 16, 1996

      • Pregnant women with family income below 133% of the FPL

      • Supplemental Security Income (SSI) recipients

      • Recipients of adoption or foster care assistance under Title IV of the Social Security Act

      • Children born after September 30, 1983 who are under age 19 and in families with incomes at or below the FPL

      • Children under age 6 whose family income is at or below 133% of the Federal poverty level (FPL)

      • Certain Medicare beneficiaries

It is also possible that Texas may provide Medicaid to other groups that have similiarities but that are more broadly defined. These include:

      • Low income institutionalized individuals

      • Infants up to age 1 and pregnant women whose family income is not more than a state-determined percentage of the FPL

      • Certain uninsured or low-income women who are screened for breast or cervical cancer

      • Certain low-income and low-resource children under the age of 21

      • Certain aged, blind, or disabled adults with incomes below the FPL

      • Certain "medically needy" persons, which allow States to extend Medicaid eligibility to persons who would be eligible for Medicaid under one of the mandatory or optional groups

      • Certain working-and-disabled persons with family income less than 250 percent of the FPL

      • Some individuals infected with tuberculosis

Texas Medicaid does not provide medical assistance for all poor persons. In fact, it is estimated that about 60% of America's poor are not covered by the program.


WHAT IS TEXAS MEDICAID? | Texas Medicaid Program | Medicaid program eligibility guidelines